Central High School Main Office: (970)254-6200
550 Warrior Way  
Grand Junction, CO 81504  
Facebook twitter youtube google play App Store

AVID

Advancement Via Individual  Determination

The Purpose of AVID:

The purpose of the AVID program is to restructure the teaching methods of an entire school and to open access to the curricula that will ensure four-year college eligibility to almost all students

AVID Mission:

The mission of AVID is to ensure that all students, and most especially the least served students who are in the middle:

  • will succeed in a rigorous curriculum,
  • will complete a rigorous college preparatory path,
  • will enter mainstream activities of the school,
  • will increase enrollment in four year colleges, and
  • will become educated and responsible participants and leaders in a democratic society.

AVID's systematic approach is designed to support students and educators as they increase schoolwide / districtwide learning and performance.

Staff:

Doug Beach

Doug.Beach@d51schools.org

9th Grade

Rachel Peacock

Rachel.Peacock@d51schools.org

10th Grade

Jacob Pingel

Jacob.Pingel@d51schools.org

10th Grade

Trey Downey

Trey.Downey@d51schools.org

11th and 12th Grades

Kerri Spore

Kerri.Spore@d51schools.org

AVID Counselor

Lanc Sellden

Lanc.Sellden@d51schools.org

AVID Administrator